Oregon officials are more serious than ever about catching and prosecuting DUII offenders. Now, I understand the need for this extra vigilance. Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is extremely dangerous. In Oregon alone, there are hundreds of accidents each year involving driving while under the influence of intoxicants. The police want to reduce the number of such fatalities. They want to make Oregon roads safe again.
An arrest for DUII has serious consequences. A conviction for DUII carries a minimum fine of $1000, a minimum 1 year driver’s license suspension and a minimum jail sentence of 48 hours.
First time DUII defendants may be eligible for the DUII Diversion Program (Diversion). Diversion requires a defendant to enter a plea of “guilty” or “no contest” to the DUII charge. The case is set over for one year. During the year, the defendant must comply with the terms of the Diversion. If a defendant completes the Diversion program, the case will be dismissed. The Diversion will always be on the defendant’s record. However, Diversion is not considered a criminal conviction.
Get Proper DUII Advice
If you have been charged with a DUII, get experienced advice from Kayla K. Long, LLC, serving Tillamook County, Oregon.